The Boy with a Tic

“I was told it was too early and that my baby would not survive.”

I am not a mother and cannot not truly know how terrible it must be to lose a child; I did, however, suffer a near death experience and when I saw the pain in my parents eyes, I understood just how hard it would have been for them if I hadn’t made it out alive.

Yet to have had the opportunity to know and love your child even for one day is an incredible gift and being deprived this joy from premature birth must be most terrible indeed. Similar to this story published at the beginning of the year, Baptiste Leclerc needed a breath of fresh air four months too soon.

“Let’s say I was in a hurry to discover the world.”

His eagerness had a price. Every day brought challenges both physical and mental; because the one cannot be separated from the other. Living with physical differences from those around him, he explained, affected his mental well-being while growing up.

“I began to understand after a few medical visits that if I didn’t do something for my body (and mind), I wouldn’t feel very well in the future.”

Motivated well before his time, Baptiste put thought to action and began working out harder than before. One of the most important exercises of his daily routine was stretching, he said. Despite his enthusiastic efforts, a last major concern remained:

“I kept worrying about the judgment of others. It was a mix between overwhelming doubt and a lack of self-confidence. Quite a disgusting cocktail, isn’t it?”

This year, Baptiste has reached the 18-year mark. He remembers all the hard work it took him to get where he is today and understands he needs to continue on this path to ensure happy days to come.

“The New Me”

Whatever the struggle, wherever lies the origins of suffering, it all comes down to this:

“I got used to it. As the proverb says, ’That’s life.’ When I began to understand my differences strengthened me, it helped me to become who I am today.”

Matured and ready to tackle the world, Baptiste believes the day waits for no man. “The future belongs to those who wake up early.” He says this sums up the way he intends to be every day. “Wake up early, stay up late and keep crafting on your work. It’s like a competition with myself.”

“It’s like a virtuous circle where every lesson, every project, every idea, every drawing, every touch of color and even every line is a step toward more self-improvement.”

His personal drive proves equally evident in his physical workout schedule, where he knows he has to work harder than everyone else. He believes this self-energetic force results in positive vibes, making every day enjoyable.

“I’m a dreamer, one foot on the moon and the other on Earth. I keep believing in my dreams every single day. I crave to discover new places, to know new people and to share my creativity with others.”

Baptiste Leclerc is confident his inner character will build up, and that his determination will allow him to reach his goals no matter how hard or painful it turns out to be.

“As Winston Churchill said: ‘An optimist sees opportunities in every difficulty.’”

Keep an eye out for upcoming projects from this young artist, whose speedy arrival into this world made him the person he is today.

*Featured image by Baptiste Leclerc

2 thoughts on “The Boy with a Tic

Leave a comment